1 month ago
Showing posts with label randomness. Show all posts
Showing posts with label randomness. Show all posts
Aug 11, 2012
Oh. My. Gosh.
Is it too soon to say that fall is here? Maybe so...but we are watching Panther football, preparing for Weddington Warrior football (half time shows actually), and buying all the school supplies. The weather is even cooperating. It's decent outside right now...although I have to say I am hoping for HOT and SUNNY this week so we can get some more pool time in. Ya'll know I am a summer girl but I do admit I'm kinda looking forward to chili, blankets, and a school schedule. Oh. My. Gosh. It has happened. Somehow. Someway. I have gotten old.
Aug 5, 2012
When Good Ideas Go Bad
The idea:
Use leftover coffee to fill ice cube trays creating coffee cubes that won't water down the flavor of your iced coffee.
The ugly truth:
I have a brown sticky mess in the freezer.
The cubes required so much force to pop out of the tray that more than one went flying across the kitchen.
The takeaway:
Maybe the $1 trays from Target were the problem. While they were cute, the quality was questionable. Maybe I'll try one more time. Then again I really don't mind watered down iced coffee.
Aug 4, 2012
The Whole Chicken Thing
I'm a bit more censored on Facebook than on my blog. Shocking I know. But this is totally my space to say whatever comes to mind and know nobody really reads it anyway. So. Here are the thoughts I won't put on Facebook...not today anyway.
*I don't care who marries who. Sorry Baptist friends. I really don't think that is worth fighting over. I do however care that people try to tell me where I should and shouldn't eat my chicken. I'll eat my chicken wherever I choose to do so.
*I think ALL business owners have a right to voice their opinions. Even if they aren't popular. If I feel strongly enough about them to boycott their establishment based on them, then I will but that is MY choice. Only mine. I'll be danged if any government or church is going to tell me I have to protest this or that based on this or that. In fact, if you tell me to protest it- you can bet I'll probably be there the next day just to show you how I feel about that. Take your marbles and go home now.
*The above goes for both the left and the right wing. I have my own moral compass and it isn't swayed by party lines.
*How dare people who preach tolerance become so intolerant of differing opinions. That's ironic, don't you think?
*Now I think I'll go by Starbucks first and then Chic-fil-a. Wow. I'm such a rebel to both parties. Or maybe I just like good coffee with my rockin chicken?
Jul 6, 2012
What a difference a week makes. Last week the big events included tide charts and sunscreen. This week they include $1 movies and the grand opening of Aldi. Oh well. For everything there is a season. That just means there will be more time for blogging- including an Aldi Tutorial for all you newbies. You know who you are. Don't be ashamed, it can be intimidating the first time but I'll walk you through it. Yay for lazy summer days.
Aug 2, 2011
Back and Ahead
July came and went with a blur. We slowed down one week to enjoy a nice relaxing vacation at Sunset Beach. Man we love that place. The weather was great, the waves were great (from the reclined position of my chair) and the company was great. We even had a vacation visitor that we all love. Thanks Miss Stacie for hanging with us. I like our beach chats.
I finally broke down and started using Google calendar. Life changing. Love love love it. I love the reminders, I love the color coding. I love how nothing has to be scratched out and it all lines up beautifully. As Martha would say, "it's a good thing." Having it on my new phone is an even better thing. We ordered Five Guys on Saturday just because "I have an app for that!"
The kids have had a million things on the calendar this summer too. Swim, drums, music, sewing, appointments, and always a bazillion extra kids at the house have made it go by even faster. But now it is August...the month of many changes. I am sooooo looking forward to the Disney trip (that'll get its own post soon) in a couple weeks but I am sooooo not looking forward to going back to school the following week. It'll be ok once we get back into the groove but man I love summer. I love the late nights. I love the grilling. I love the sun shining at 8pm. I just love the sun. School means that fall and those 6pm sunsets are around the corner. Blah. Is it too early to countdown to summer 2012?
I finally broke down and started using Google calendar. Life changing. Love love love it. I love the reminders, I love the color coding. I love how nothing has to be scratched out and it all lines up beautifully. As Martha would say, "it's a good thing." Having it on my new phone is an even better thing. We ordered Five Guys on Saturday just because "I have an app for that!"
The kids have had a million things on the calendar this summer too. Swim, drums, music, sewing, appointments, and always a bazillion extra kids at the house have made it go by even faster. But now it is August...the month of many changes. I am sooooo looking forward to the Disney trip (that'll get its own post soon) in a couple weeks but I am sooooo not looking forward to going back to school the following week. It'll be ok once we get back into the groove but man I love summer. I love the late nights. I love the grilling. I love the sun shining at 8pm. I just love the sun. School means that fall and those 6pm sunsets are around the corner. Blah. Is it too early to countdown to summer 2012?
Jul 13, 2011
Remember Me?
I really don't have much to say. Yet I feel I should post. I feel I should just stand up and wave, "I'm still here." I know things have gotten crazy the last couple weeks. I'm working. Working. Working. But you know how people talk about when you are doing what you love, it doesn't seem like work. They are spot on. I haven't minded getting up early or staying up late. I thought I knew so much about Disney only to discover how much I have yet to learn. I thought I was confident in my writing skills only to be given an opportunity that makes me doubt. Yes. It has been a crazy couple of week. But in a good way. And I'm still here. I'm starting to find the groove. I really didn't have to stay up this late tonight. Except I had 2 All My Childrens, 2 One Life to Lives, and 1 Bachelorette to catch up on. I couldn't even start them until all the boys were in bed. Funny how those boys don't like watching any of those shows with me. Maci does though. We watched together. The soap opera legacy lives on...at least until September. Sigh. Yes, I heard the news about the internet...but do you really think Susan Lucci is going to settle for an internet soap? Not likely.
So. As I said, not much to say except that I'm still here. Keep the tea coming...
So. As I said, not much to say except that I'm still here. Keep the tea coming...
Dec 12, 2010
If Only...
If only the road to blogspot was paved with good intentions... I've had such good intentions of blogging. I have written several mental blog posts. Sadly I've lacked the follow through of actually typing them up. In my defense, I have been slightly psychotic concerned about finishing up this last class for my masters. As of today, I have turned everything in. I should be finished. I say *should be* because this is the week my professor looks through my portfolio and lets me know if there is anything else she needs from me. (please no...please no...please no) Grades should be posted by Dec. 27 and I anticipate that beautiful diploma to arrive shortly after the first of the year.
So. Sad day for me. I'm a blogging loser these days. But rest assured, we're still here. The Christmas wreaths are up so the southern hospitality patrol won't come knocking and the banisters look lovely. (thanks to Maci). I will post pictures. For real. Just not today...or tomorrow...maybe next weekend.
Nov 27, 2010
I'm not a violent person and we never allow yelling in our house. But tonight the stars aligned... Oklahoma bedlam came to Charlotte television. I haven't watched a bedlam game in years. Years. That may be a good thing because tonight I have heard myself yelling at the tv a *teensy* little bit. Yelling phrases like "throw him down", "tear him up", and GET HIM!!!" The kids said, "Mom- why are you so growly?" Growly? No worries, it's just bedlam dear.
But honestly, must they play Boomer Sooner every freaking time those boys do the slightest little thing? Puh-lease. Just because OSU has a crappy fight song...how does that fight song go anyway?
So the game continues...Brad watches from upstairs. I watch from downstairs. This ensures a happy marriage after the 4th quarter.
I promise I'll keep my yelling to a minimum.
UPDATE- interceptions release me from that promise. stinking freaking piece of crap game.
UPDATE- interceptions release me from that promise. stinking freaking piece of crap game.
UPDATE 2- Freaking play the entire game. I don't care who it is. I don't care what the score is. Play the whole game. Seriously. Other than that- good game!
Aug 30, 2010
Legal Again
For those of you that were concerned...and I know there were many....I'm no longer driving with an expired license. I know the little angry man at the Kansas City airport would be happy.
I spent my 40 minutes of wait time studying for the signs test. I seriously studied. But just so you know- that test is a rip off. Do you know what this sign is?
Me either! The lady tried to tell me it was the railroad crossing sign. What the heck? I told her that in the real world the railroad sign has a big X across it. She said "well this is a shape recogniton test." Lady- I teach kindergarten. I know my shapes! Fortunately missing one won't fail a person.
More good news- I don't have to worry about renewing again until 2018.
Aug 22, 2010
Holy Tea Cups
Now they are saying the Teacups will also be down for refurbishment during our trip. First Its a Small World, then One Man's Dream, and now Mad Tea Party. I think I deserve a partial refund.
Aug 9, 2010
Pop Quiz
Can you speak low country? Aaron and I were doing some research on how to pronounce "McBee," (a small little town in South Carolina known for its peaches and speed traps.) Not only had we been pronoucing it incorrectly all this time but we've been pronouncing many of these names like a big ol yankee outsider. I'm shocked that the southern police (the same ones that come get you if you don't have your wreaths hung in all the windows by the first weekend in December) haven't stopped by with a large pitcher of sweet tea and a long lesson in low country. Quiz yourself.
McBee = MAC bee
Belin = BLANE (I so would have said bell in)
Cheddar = SHED ur (Andy would've gotten that one right.)
Clinton = Clin on (do they not see that t?)
Huger = HU gee (again, see that r?)
Lancaster = lank uh ster
Legare = le GREE
Newry = NEAR ree
Tammassee = tuh MAH see
I guess this explains Wingate (wing it) Pineville (pine vul) too. Oklahoma has some crazy town names(Tahlequah, Oologah, Muskogee) but at least we utlize phonics.
McBee = MAC bee
Belin = BLANE (I so would have said bell in)
Cheddar = SHED ur (Andy would've gotten that one right.)
Clinton = Clin on (do they not see that t?)
Huger = HU gee (again, see that r?)
Lancaster = lank uh ster
Legare = le GREE
Newry = NEAR ree
Tammassee = tuh MAH see
I guess this explains Wingate (wing it) Pineville (pine vul) too. Oklahoma has some crazy town names(Tahlequah, Oologah, Muskogee) but at least we utlize phonics.
Jul 31, 2010
This & That
Just random thoughts today...
My lips are sunburned. I hate it when that happens. It hurts like a big dog. I got all kinds of stuff to put on them but most of it says to contact poison control if its swallowed. Would that be a concern to anyone else?
We ate at Bucas last night. Crazy place. Next time we are going to make reservations for the table in the kitchen. That looked way fun. I'm thinking that'll be a good night of entertainment the next time my parents are in town. Super good food too.
We spent an hour in the Disney store last night. 56 days...until the REAL Disney store.
Andy bought some Toy Story stuff. I swear we had all of it before though. Like 10 years ago. If only we'd known we needed to prepare for the comeback.
Boarhead Cajun turkey = yummo. I'm not sure what kind of mustard to put with it though. Honey dijon wasn't the right choice.
July is my very favorite month and today is the very last day. Goodbye July. I will miss you dearly.
Jul 26, 2010
A Teensy Tiny Little Break
My July blog run has been good! So good I felt I could harass some other bloggers on their recent slackedness. (like that word? I don't know if it is a word but I'm calling it one)
Jul 21, 2010
Hey, Where Did Everyone Go?
Look over there at the blogs I read section...it is a sad day. Out of the 13 or so blogs listed only 3 are even updated anymore. Not naming names but some of you have small children or are newlyweds or recently moved or all of the above. You have lots of blogging material. What's the deal? Doesn't anybody blog anymore?I know the "pros" like Nester and Vintage are still kicking but where are the rest of you? It's too quiet...I see you reading but no one is talking back to me anymore...Hello? Hellllloooo? Is this thing on?
Jul 20, 2010
Trash & The Grouch

Let me preface this with a defensive statement-- In all of my adult life, I have never ever had a separate bill for trash collection. Never.
In Oklahoma it was included on our electric bill. I never gave it a thought. In Lake Park it was included in our tax bill. (I assume) So again I never gave it a thought. For the first 5 1/2 months in this house I never gave it a thought. And then...it happened. We got skipped. Humph. That wasn't nice. We only have pick up once a week so we had alot of extra trash coming into the following week. Guess what. We were skipped again! This time Oscar Brad was none too happy. He called the trash people and demanded an explanation. They gave him one. We aren't customers.
WHAT? We've lived here for almost 6 months and our trash has been taken every week for 6 months (minus the last 2). We asked if possibly the previous owners had paid in advance and it just ran out. They said no. They say our address isn't even in the system. What inthetrashcollectingworld is going on here. Apparently we scored free trash collection for quite some time. I don't think it is considered stealing when we didn't know we were supposed to be paying. Do you?
Another week has passed. As I type,Oscar Brad is hauling a crapload of trash to the curb AND placing a little envelope with a check enclosed under the door mat. That is our peace of mind that tomorrow morning all the trash will be taken away.
Another week has passed. As I type,
If not...the kids and I are going to have to bury it in the back yard before Brad gets home. He really (really) will lose it if we have to hang on to 3 weeks of trash. Really.
:::UPDATE:::
They took the trash. They dropped off a recycle bin. The check is still under the mat. 5 more free months? Kidding!!!
Jul 16, 2010
The Business Woman
Jul 13, 2010
Whaaaaaat???
I almost had a panic attack seeing all the Back to School stuff at Target last night. What are they talking about- back to school?? Then it hit me. They don't mean "me." They are talking about those poor unfortunate souls that have year round school. They go back in less than 2 weeks. I am safe for another 6.Whew. That was a close one.
Jul 10, 2010
Wondering
I was talking with a friend recently who was upset with herself for being annoyed about something that really shouldn't annoy her. Sadly I know all too well what she means. I've found myself angry or annoyed or even hurt by things that I really should have just let go of immediately. I do wonder why we are like that. Is it a girl thing? Guys don't seem to get annoyed nearly as often. Are they better at getting over things or are they simply better at pretending to?Jul 9, 2010
Summer Television

Summer is the time I catch up on daytime television. I mostly stick to Discovery Health and TLC with a bit of The Travel Channel thrown in for good measure. I don't watch any of the wedding shows...Rock the Receptions, Say Yes to the Dress, and all that mess does not interest me. I do however watch every episode I can of Birth Day, A Baby Story, Deliver Me, and Adoption Stories. Will I ever "outgrow" this stage? I hope not.
Let me just say if you can watch an episode of Adoption Stories without crying- check your pulse. That one gets me every time.
Those docs on Deliver Me are way to intervention happy but I am still oh so jealous of them. Who wouldn't want to be an OB with two of your best friends?!
A Baby Story is better than it used to be. They are adding more baby and less story. I like that. For me, it's all about the birth. I don't care how you met or what your nursery is going to look like. Just tell me about the birth. (I am pretty good at predicting outcomes after the first 5 minutes of the show by the way.)
Next week Discovery Health is premiering NICU during their Baby Week. I soooo can't wait for this one.
Does it ever occur to anyone else that I am really in the wrong profession?
Jun 16, 2010
Corners
I am really enjoying this corner of the house. It is in the front room. We call it the front room because it's in the front of the house and I refuse to have a "formal living room." I'm just not a "formal living room" kind of girl. We love the Welch's idea of a media room but we don't currently have any media equipment so that name didn't stick. The kids call it the empty room...which is pretty true...except it is home to my favorite chair. 
The chair just happens to totally match the drapes. People say God doesn't care about such fashionista things but when I found this chair I knew better. God must enjoy fabric harmony.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)













